

ANNUAL COUNCIL 23 May 2018

EXPLANATORY NOTE

APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES

For ease of reference, the tables that follow indicate the nominations that are unopposed, and those upon which votes will be required.

Table 1: Unopposed nominations

Committee	Chairman Councillor	Vice-Chairman Councillor
Adjudication and Review (2 Vice- Chairmen)	Maggie Themistocli	1. Tim Ryan 2. Ray Best
Audit	Position contested – see table 2.	Position contested – see table 2.
Governance	Michael White	Position contested – see table 2.
Highways Advisory	Position contested – see table 2.	Position contested – see table 2.
Licensing (3 Vice-Chairmen)	Philippa Crowder	 Bob Perry Position contested see table 2. Christine Smith
Pensions	Position contested – see table 2.	Position contested – see table 2.
Planning	Robby Misir	Carol Smith
Strategic Planning	Position contested – see table 2.	Position contested – see table 2.

Annual Council, 23 May 2018

Joint Venture Working Party	Position contested – see table 2.	Paul McGeary
Overview and Scrutiny Board	Darren Wise	Position contested – see table 2.
Children and Learning Overview and Scrutiny Sub- Committee	Position contested - see table 2.	Gillian Ford (unless elected as Chairman)
Crime & Disorder Sub-Committee	Bob Perry	John Tyler
Environment Overview and Scrutiny Sub- Committee	John Mylod	Clarence Barrett (unless elected as Leader of the Council)
Health Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee	Position contested – see table 2.	Gillian Ford
Individuals Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee	Ray Best	Linda Hawthorn
Towns and Communities Overview and Scrutiny Sub- Committee	Position contested – see table 2.	Chris Wilkins

Sub-Committee of the Governance Committee:

Appointments	Position contested -	Position contested -
	see table 2	see table 2.

Table 2: Opposed nominations where there are two nominees

A. Chairman of Audit Committee

North Havering Residents Group nominee Councillor	Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor
Martin Goode	Clarence Barrett

B. Vice-Chairman of Audit Committee

Conservative Group nominee Councillor	Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor
Matt Sutton	Clarence Barrett (unless elected as Chairman).

C. Vice-Chairman of Governance Committee

Conservative Group nominee Councillor	Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor
Robert Benham	Ron Ower

D. Chairman of Highways Advisory Committee

North Havering Residents Group nominee Councillor	Residents' Group nominee Councillor
Brian Eagling	Barry Mugglestone

E. Vice-Chairman Chairman of Highways Advisory Committee

Conservative Group nominee Councillor	Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations nominee Councillor
Ciaran White	Chris Wilkins

F. Vice-Chairman of Licensing Committee

Conservative Group nominee Councillor	Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor
Christine Vickery	John Tyler

G. Chairman of Pensions Committee

Conservative Group	Residents' Group
nominee	nominee
Councillor	Councillor
John Crowder	Stephanie Nunn

H. Vice-Chairman of Pensions Committee

Conservative Group nominee Councillor	Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor
Melvin Wallace	Ron Ower

I. Chairman of Strategic Planning Committee

Conservative Group nominee Councillor	Residents' Group nominee Councillor
Melvin Wallace	Reg Whitney

J. Vice-Chairman of Strategic Planning Committee

Labour Group	Residents' Group
nominee	nominee
Councillor	Councillor
Keith Darvill	Linda Hawthorn

K. Chairman of Joint Venture Working Party

Conservative Group nominee Councillor	Independent Residents' Group nominee Councillor
Michael Deon Burton	David Durant

L. Vice-Chairman of Overview and Scrutiny Board

Labour Group nominee Councillor	Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor
Keith Darvill	Gillian Ford

M. Chairman of Children and Learning Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Conservative Group nominee Councillor	Upminster & Cranham residents' Associations Residents' Group nominee Councillor
Judith Holt	Gillian Ford

N. Chairman of Health Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Conservative Group	Residents' Group
nominee	nominee
Councillor	Councillor
Nisha Patel	Nic Dodin

P. Chairman of Towns and Communities Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Labour Group nominee Councillor	Upminster & Cranham Residents' Association Group nominee Councillor
Keith Darvill	Linda Hawthorn

Q. Chairman of Appointments Sub-Committee

Conservative Group nominee Councillor	Residents' Group nominee Councillor
Damian White	Ray Morgon

R. Vice-Chairman of Appointments Sub-Committee

Conservative Group nominee Councillor	Upminster & Cranham Residents' Group nominee Councillor
Robert Benham	Gillian Ford